Dec 29th 2015

Erin Hales: A creative approach to Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier

by Michael Johnson

Michael Johnson is a music critic with particular interest in piano. 

Johnson worked as a reporter and editor in New York, Moscow, Paris and London over his journalism career. He covered European technology for Business Week for five years, and served nine years as chief editor of International Management magazine and was chief editor of the French technology weekly 01 Informatique. He also spent four years as Moscow correspondent of The Associated Press. He is the author of five books.

Michael Johnson is based in Bordeaux. Besides English and French he is also fluent in Russian.

You can order Michael Johnson's most recent book, a bilingual book, French and English, with drawings by Johnson:

“Portraitures and caricatures:  Conductors, Pianist, Composers”

 here.

The perfumed prose of music criticism can sometimes be as annoying as it is unhelpful.  For a lesson in turning music into words, however, there is better, as I have found in reading analyses and opinions on Johann Sebastian Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier. He brings out the best in us. 

A few choice metaphors, all of them justified by this extraordinary material, have been produced to describe a variety of pianists in thrall to the Bach WTC oeuvre:

-- The feelings range “from a brisk delight in muscular playfulness through harrowing depths of personal introspection …”

-- No. 4 starts with four notes, from which “Bach creates a Gothic cathedral. The grandeur is almost unbearable …”

-- The entire 48, whichever one might choose,  “have some quality or other of grace, humor, tenderness, vivacity, tranquility, high spirits, solemnity or Aufschwung – flight upward and away …” 

The emotions Bach captured in these short, perfectly polished pieces – and artfully described above -- are also played masterfully by the young American pianist Erin Hales on her new CD of Book I (Academy Productions AP4141), the first 24 pieces from 1722. Her Book II, the remaining 24, compiled some 20 years later, is in preparation.

Ms. Hales’ confident, mature renderings compare well with those by three other women, Angela Hewitt, Hélène Grimaud and Rosalyn Tureck, as well as those by men who have excelled in the same realm, Andras Schiff, Glenn Gould and Edwin Fischer, among others. They all take advantage of the wide range of legitimate variants – tempo, tone, voice, articulation, pedal and ingredient X -- the performer’s own personal magic.

But what makes Ms. Hales’s reading stand out is her courage in creative improvisation, a bold move to be welcomed as a freshener. Her cadenzas and added ornamentation are so Bachian as to be easily mistaken as his, not hers. She declares in her program notes:

“What I propose …  is a more fantastical, improvisatory style favored in Bach’s day by vocalists and instrumentalists alike … My sincerest hope is to offer an additional window into the vast universe of possibilities open to those who wish to explore this repertoire.” She calls her modifications “judicious use of ornamentation and even improvisation” to bring out what is already inherent in the text. 

The late Ms. Tureck (the “First Lady of Bach”), and perhaps the few other pianists who have had the confidence to improvise around Bach, would approve. She called embellishment of Bach’s piano music “a life study in itself”. No doubt true but Ms. Hales seems to have achieved, through her musicological interests, a depth of understanding remarkably early in her career. She explains: “Many interpretive suggestions lie within the fabric of the writing itself, even if few explicit indications are to be found.”

Erin Hales pictured by the author, Michael Johnson

In an email exchange with Ms. Hales I asked her how it felt to operate creatively on Bach’s perfect creations. She shot back:

“It would be presumptuous of me to claim to have gotten inside Bach's mind. Rather, I would liken the process to that of adding footnotes - corollaries to the theorems he posited. The intent … is to provide a commentary on the immense rhetorical potential of this repertoire, one that so far has not seemed to make it into many recordings.”

Listening to Bach’s broad musical palate in the first 24, I paid special attention to two of the preludes and fugues.  The preludes benefit from Ms. Hales’ feather-touch and her sensitive ear. Chords and single notes overlap and shimmer in the air. She controls every minuscule change. 

No. 4 in C-sharp minor calls upon Ms. Hales’ finely tuned sensibilities to create colors in slow motion. The fugue then seguës into five voices to complete the ideas. Her finger technique seems tight and appropriately loose at the same time.

No. 8 in E-flat minor opens with a quiet exposition echoing a tragic line that has been called heartbreaking. As in No. 4, Ms. Hales’ hyper-sensitive touch lets the music emerge of its own accord. The fugue then in equally quiet mode brings three voices to the fore, virtually singing the development.

For fans who know this material by heart, I can suggest No. 2 in C-minor and the bubbling No 5 in D-minor as containing her most interesting personal touch in ornamentation.

Ms. Hales’ teacher William Naboré, artistic director and founder of the International Piano Academy Lake Como, notes that Franz Liszt was one of the last of the great improvisers, leaving us with perfectionists who settle for note-perfect performances. “This is our loss,” says Naboré, who has encouraged Ms. Hales to take up the challenge. Other living pianists who combine Bach with their own ideas include the Russian virtuoso Konstantin Lifschitz.

Samples of Ms. Hales’ tracks are available on Amazon, please click here.




TO FOLLOW WHAT'S NEW ON FACTS & ARTS, PLEASE CLICK HERE!

 


This article is brought to you by the author who owns the copyright to the text.

Should you want to support the author’s creative work you can use the PayPal “Donate” button below.

Your donation is a transaction between you and the author. The proceeds go directly to the author’s PayPal account in full less PayPal’s commission.

Facts & Arts neither receives information about you, nor of your donation, nor does Facts & Arts receive a commission.

Facts & Arts does not pay the author, nor takes paid by the author, for the posting of the author's material on Facts & Arts. Facts & Arts finances its operations by selling advertising space.

 

 

Browse articles by author

More Music Reviews

Sep 21st 2021
EXTRACT: "Top prize, worth 22,000 euros, went to Jae Hong Park, a flamboyant, emotive player with and a firm grasp of Rachmaninov, and second prize went to Do-Hyun Kim, who played Prokofiev’s second concerto with some considerable verve. Placing third was Lukas Sternath, a young Austrian who performed Beethoven’s Fifth Piano Concerto with cool charm -- the opposite of Park’s style."
Jul 9th 2021
EXTRACT: " .....I have to give everything in these concerts,.... "
Jun 26th 2021
EXTRACT: What do you want to be known as? --- As “Stewart Goodyear, composer and pianist”.
Mar 15th 2021
EXTRACT: Denis Pascal, founder of the French Trio Pascal: ".....recording studios began working again. We recorded our Schubert trios at the end of September. And musicians everywhere are finding that the crisis allows time for a certain introspection and questioning into the way music is performed. Music will play a much more important role after the crisis."
Feb 12th 2021
EXTRACTS: "She began her piano training rather late in life – age 8." ..... "I want to contribute a sense of joy by discovering atypical works that might surprise an educated public. I have great experience and am inclined to share them with anyone who can appreciate them, or as André Gide wrote, anyone “who has an open mind”."
Jan 31st 2021
EXTRACTS: "A new recording of Franz Liszt’s piano compositions presents ten carefully balanced pieces in a double-CD album aptly titled Between Light and Darkness, launched by Piano Classics. The pianist, the veteran French virtuoso Vincent Larderet .... Larderet opens his CD with a moving exploration of Après une Lecture de Dante with a tortured lyricism unmatched by many of his contemporaries who play it. I was stunned the first time I heard his performance. In our interview below, he describes lyricism as “an essential facet of my musical conception. The piano must be able to sing like the human voice.” "
Jan 16th 2021
EXTRACT: "Jack Kohl is an American pianist and writer with three novels and two essay collections to his credit. His new collection, From the Windows of Diligence: Essays from a Standing Pianist, has drawn critical acclaim in the U.S. and Europe. In these reflections, he examines the power of ‘hack pianism’, the metaphor of running vs. the piano, and the ‘hidden gift’ of the Covid virus pandemic on solitary practicing. Robert Beattie spoke to Kohl about his music training and how he made the transition from pianist to author. (This edited interview was first published on www.Seenandheard-international.com and is reproduced with permission.)"
Dec 17th 2020
EXTRACT: "Freedom in Beethoven’s music takes many, frequently overlapping forms. There is heroic freedom in the Eroica (1803), freedom from political oppression in the Egmont Overture (1810), artistic freedom and innovation in the Ninth Symphony (1824). Today, Beethoven’s music remains deeply connected with a true humanism, which has the principles of freedom and self-determination at its heart. The composer’s music grew out of the age of European Enlightenment, which located human reason and the self at the centre of knowledge......"
Nov 27th 2020
EXTRACT: "One of the most durable tales in Western civilization – the legend of Faust – is brilliantly rendered in a piano adaptation, performed this week by the multi-talented Australian musician of German/Slovenian parentage, Ashley Hribar. A new recording of the music, now available digitally, will appear as a CD in the New Year. Hribar calls his recording, “Faust: A Mortal’s Tale”.  It is a personal musical reflection on the Faust story, loosely based on the 1926 silent film by Wilhelm Friedrich Murnau."
Aug 6th 2020
EXTRACT: "For 60 minutes, my mind was clear, the air was clean and the sound heavenly. It was my honor and privilege to have been there."
Jul 25th 2020
EXTRACT: "Scarlatti sonatas are enjoying a popular surge in recent years, tempting pianists –Europeans, Americans, Asians -- to try to master their broad range. Margherita has some advice: “Don’t be afraid to slow down, to speed up, to play the truly singable melodies with a quasi-Romantic feeling.” "
Jul 18th 2020
EXTRACT: "The dizzying output of John Cage the musician, the poet, the writer, the thinker, the artist, was so prolific that one of his sidelines – his interests in wild mushrooms -- has been almost overlooked. A new a two-volume set of books, beautifully designed by Capucine Labarthe, packaged in an elegant slipcover, seeks to fill this gap."
Jul 9th 2020
EXTRACT: "In our chat by telephone, Paley spoke from his Paris apartment and asserted his belief that Rameau was “the greatest French composer ever. Pure genius and very special colors.” He acknowledges his extensive research into the period of Rameau’s life (1683-1764) in order to recreate the spirit of the time."
Jul 8th 2020
EXTRACT: "In A Fistful of Dollars (1964) and subsequent films, Morricone opted for an unprecedented fusion of archaic-sounding lines in the melody, reminiscent of medieval modal music. He intermixed this sound with contemporary pop touches (the Fender electric guitar), wordless choirs, unusual instruments (Jew’s harp, ocarinas, mariachi trumpets…) and ambient sounds (whip cracks, whistles, gunshot, coyote’s howls). He also infused scores with his trademark humour. This can be heard in the comedy western Il Mio Nome è Nessuno (My Name is Nobody, Tonino Valerii, 1973) where a toy trumpet toots bits of Wagner’s Ride of the Valkyries."
Jul 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: Are you collaborating with living composers? Answer: Yes, Scott Wollschleger sends me unfinished new works every month. Keeril Makan is working on a piano concerto. Melaine Dalibert has dedicated several recent works to me. There are more names on the horizon. But these are the three where I feel I can have a big impact on their careers, and all three write music that I feel born to play. That combination of things is important to me."
Jun 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: How do you see your musical mission today? Answer: My real passion in music is to resist popularity rankings and market forces. In my view, these currents impoverish our cultural richness........."
May 1st 2020
EXTRACT: Alessandro Deljavan: "I bought a former convent 40 kilometers from Pescara, in Villamagna. It's very important for me to breathe clean air and live as simply as possible. Life in a giant city full of cars and smog is hard for me to imagine. My perspective is always to live fully. My aspirations for the best musical experiences guides my decisions and over the past several years I have had the pleasure of meeting and working with some wonderful musicians—these experiences have brought me a sense of optimism for what might lie ahead.”
Apr 16th 2020
EXTRACT: "Federico Mompou, the reclusive Catalonian composer whose calm, spare piano writing is currently enjoying a rebirth, might well look askance at any effort to pull him forward into modern mode. Such was never his genre but that’s precisely what one of his ardent admirers, pianist Maria Canyigueral, proposed to do. The result is her intriguing new CD, Avant-guarding Mompou."
Mar 22nd 2020
EXTRACT: "In our interview, Prof. Réach says he cautions his students in Barcelona to approach the Variations with care, warning them “the path will be long and will require great patience”. He has personally overcome his fear of this “masterpiece of masterpieces”, having recorded them three times and performed them in about 15 countries a total of about 150 times."