Oct 9th 2015

A John Heiss premiere focuses on the oboe

by Michael Johnson

Michael Johnson is a music critic with particular interest in piano. 

Johnson worked as a reporter and editor in New York, Moscow, Paris and London over his journalism career. He covered European technology for Business Week for five years, and served nine years as chief editor of International Management magazine and was chief editor of the French technology weekly 01 Informatique. He also spent four years as Moscow correspondent of The Associated Press. He is the author of five books.

Michael Johnson is based in Bordeaux. Besides English and French he is also fluent in Russian.

You can order Michael Johnson's most recent book, a bilingual book, French and English, with drawings by Johnson:

“Portraitures and caricatures:  Conductors, Pianist, Composers”

 here.

Boston is that most musical of American cities, so there is never a shortage of recital and concert to choose from. I visit Boston twice and year and partake freely of the offerings.  Boston’s talented performers are the equal of New Yorkers, Parisians, even Berliners.

New music and American music occupy pride of place here and have done so since the days of the legendary Serge Koussevitzky – the Russian-born conductor who dominated the Boston music scene and made the Boston Symphony Orchestra what it is today, a world-class institution.

The area’s giant stone churches, relics from another era, seem more frequently utilized for chamber music than for worshiping. The Winsor Music Chamber Series at St. Paul’s Church, Brookline, is a good example. On October 4, a concert there ranged from the Baroque to the contemporary – including a world premiere of a John Heiss eight-part composition. A mostly subscription (and entirely grey-haired) audience filled the hall.

Music’s elite turned up, including composer-pianist Yehudi Wyner (president of the American Academy of Arts and Letters), star conductor Benjamin Zander and Heiss himself. I sat beside a soprano who had taught a generation of talented Boston singers.

The polished, professional players in this Young Artist Concert seemed equally comfortable with the traditional Luigi Boccherini Quintet in D minor Op. 25 No. 31 and the sometimes-atonal Heiss Microcosms that unfolded in new and fresh directions. The Heiss quintet satisfied the Winsor Series aim of presenting a world premiere at each concert in the series, a remarkable objective for any group.

Peggy Pearson, the virtuoso oboist and founder of Winsor Music Inc. nine years ago, took lead roles in both the Boccherini and the Heiss and made the most of her sensitive tone and fluid phrasing. The Heiss selection was in fact a reworking of an earlier version, premiered in June, that Pearson liked so much she boldly announced that she wanted to play it. Peggy usually gets her way. She recalled for me after the concert that she had said to Heiss, “I’d like you to write me into that piece.” Heiss complied, creating the new version with impressive oboe passages that transformed the piece to her advantage.

Heiss injected his sense of play into the music, beginning with a 30-second movement then a 40-second movement, both mere fleeting ideas, actually, gradually increasing in length to about three minutes. Inspirations popped up and vanished, moods came and went, and percussive effects were added by handclaps and drumming on the cello and viola frames. Stops and starts came at unexpected intervals, to the delight of the audience.

He slipped into the atonal and back to tonal, but always layered with harmonies, some of them pleasant, others in clashing dissonance. One of the players praised the “purity and crystalline quality” of the music. Explaining his brevity, Heiss said he tried to make each phrase perfect, “not wasting a note”. The players never lost sight of the overall piece, giving it coherence and meaning.

Mitsuru Yonezaki led on violin, with Pearson on oboe, Gabriela Diaz (viola), Rafael Popper-Keizer (cello) and Lawrence Wolfe (bass). Heiss has been a popular professor of composition at New England Conservatory for 49 years. The quintet is his 53rd completed work.

Following intermission came Jewel Hill: A Song for the Spirit, composed by Megan Henderson, who introduced it with a short explanation. Henderson, who performs both as pianist and as a singer in the Schola Cantorum group, invited the audience to join in a sing-along, reading from a one-page score that was distributed at entry. The notation was in “shape note” style, an old technique for facilitating community singing. I let out a sigh of despond as I realized we were being asked to engage in some kind of group thing, unrehearsed and no doubt painful.

But the ensuing performance produced a spontaneous and beautiful full-chorus effect.  Onstage was Henderson and three other singers (soprano Peggy Murray, alto Henderson, tenor Lysander Jaffee and bass Bret Silverman) plus the strings from the earlier program. The audience, familiar with Pearson’s productions, gamely sang along, and in tune. Somehow it all hung together.

The program closed with a vigorous reading of the Schumann Piano Trio No. 2 in F minor. Op. 80, one of his three piano trios. It begins with the marking Sehr lebhaft (Very lively) and the cello (Popper-Keizer) and violinist (Diaz) were appropriately energetic in extended parallel passages.  Alternately to piano part functions as lead and accompaniment. The piano emerges dominant in subsequent movements, played by the much-decorated Eliko Akahori, a popular Boston area recitalist and chamber player.

Pearson’s Winsor Music, Inc., has grown steadily in popularity, now operating along four lines: development of new works for oboe, a chamber music series, taking chamber music to retirement communities, and schools, and the Bach Institute in collaboration with Emmanuel Music and Oberlin College.

 

Another version of this review has appeared on Boston Musical Intelligencer at www.classical-scene.com.

 


This article is brought to you by the author who owns the copyright to the text.

Should you want to support the author’s creative work you can use the PayPal “Donate” button below.

Your donation is a transaction between you and the author. The proceeds go directly to the author’s PayPal account in full less PayPal’s commission.

Facts & Arts neither receives information about you, nor of your donation, nor does Facts & Arts receive a commission.

Facts & Arts does not pay the author, nor takes paid by the author, for the posting of the author's material on Facts & Arts. Facts & Arts finances its operations by selling advertising space.

 

 

Browse articles by author

More Music Reviews

Nov 27th 2021
EXTRACT: "Most important  to him, he explained, is maintaining his individuality in interpretation. He feels it was a mistake in his past to pick and choose bits from different teachers and combine them into a finished performance. He has decided to create his own perspective, and 'go for it'."
Oct 28th 2021
EXTRACTS: "The 16th International Beethoven Piano Competition came to a rousing climax in Vienna on 21 October with first prizewinner Aris Alexander Blettenberg’s lyrical rendering of the Beethoven Piano Concerto No 1." ---- "The other two finalists, Austrian Philipp Scheucher and South Korean Dasol Kim, played Beethoven’s Fourth and Fifth Concertos respectively."
Sep 21st 2021
EXTRACT: "Top prize, worth 22,000 euros, went to Jae Hong Park, a flamboyant, emotive player with and a firm grasp of Rachmaninov, and second prize went to Do-Hyun Kim, who played Prokofiev’s second concerto with some considerable verve. Placing third was Lukas Sternath, a young Austrian who performed Beethoven’s Fifth Piano Concerto with cool charm -- the opposite of Park’s style."
Jul 9th 2021
EXTRACT: " .....I have to give everything in these concerts,.... "
Jun 26th 2021
EXTRACT: What do you want to be known as? --- As “Stewart Goodyear, composer and pianist”.
Mar 15th 2021
EXTRACT: Denis Pascal, founder of the French Trio Pascal: ".....recording studios began working again. We recorded our Schubert trios at the end of September. And musicians everywhere are finding that the crisis allows time for a certain introspection and questioning into the way music is performed. Music will play a much more important role after the crisis."
Feb 12th 2021
EXTRACTS: "She began her piano training rather late in life – age 8." ..... "I want to contribute a sense of joy by discovering atypical works that might surprise an educated public. I have great experience and am inclined to share them with anyone who can appreciate them, or as André Gide wrote, anyone “who has an open mind”."
Jan 31st 2021
EXTRACTS: "A new recording of Franz Liszt’s piano compositions presents ten carefully balanced pieces in a double-CD album aptly titled Between Light and Darkness, launched by Piano Classics. The pianist, the veteran French virtuoso Vincent Larderet .... Larderet opens his CD with a moving exploration of Après une Lecture de Dante with a tortured lyricism unmatched by many of his contemporaries who play it. I was stunned the first time I heard his performance. In our interview below, he describes lyricism as “an essential facet of my musical conception. The piano must be able to sing like the human voice.” "
Jan 16th 2021
EXTRACT: "Jack Kohl is an American pianist and writer with three novels and two essay collections to his credit. His new collection, From the Windows of Diligence: Essays from a Standing Pianist, has drawn critical acclaim in the U.S. and Europe. In these reflections, he examines the power of ‘hack pianism’, the metaphor of running vs. the piano, and the ‘hidden gift’ of the Covid virus pandemic on solitary practicing. Robert Beattie spoke to Kohl about his music training and how he made the transition from pianist to author. (This edited interview was first published on www.Seenandheard-international.com and is reproduced with permission.)"
Dec 17th 2020
EXTRACT: "Freedom in Beethoven’s music takes many, frequently overlapping forms. There is heroic freedom in the Eroica (1803), freedom from political oppression in the Egmont Overture (1810), artistic freedom and innovation in the Ninth Symphony (1824). Today, Beethoven’s music remains deeply connected with a true humanism, which has the principles of freedom and self-determination at its heart. The composer’s music grew out of the age of European Enlightenment, which located human reason and the self at the centre of knowledge......"
Nov 27th 2020
EXTRACT: "One of the most durable tales in Western civilization – the legend of Faust – is brilliantly rendered in a piano adaptation, performed this week by the multi-talented Australian musician of German/Slovenian parentage, Ashley Hribar. A new recording of the music, now available digitally, will appear as a CD in the New Year. Hribar calls his recording, “Faust: A Mortal’s Tale”.  It is a personal musical reflection on the Faust story, loosely based on the 1926 silent film by Wilhelm Friedrich Murnau."
Aug 6th 2020
EXTRACT: "For 60 minutes, my mind was clear, the air was clean and the sound heavenly. It was my honor and privilege to have been there."
Jul 25th 2020
EXTRACT: "Scarlatti sonatas are enjoying a popular surge in recent years, tempting pianists –Europeans, Americans, Asians -- to try to master their broad range. Margherita has some advice: “Don’t be afraid to slow down, to speed up, to play the truly singable melodies with a quasi-Romantic feeling.” "
Jul 18th 2020
EXTRACT: "The dizzying output of John Cage the musician, the poet, the writer, the thinker, the artist, was so prolific that one of his sidelines – his interests in wild mushrooms -- has been almost overlooked. A new a two-volume set of books, beautifully designed by Capucine Labarthe, packaged in an elegant slipcover, seeks to fill this gap."
Jul 9th 2020
EXTRACT: "In our chat by telephone, Paley spoke from his Paris apartment and asserted his belief that Rameau was “the greatest French composer ever. Pure genius and very special colors.” He acknowledges his extensive research into the period of Rameau’s life (1683-1764) in order to recreate the spirit of the time."
Jul 8th 2020
EXTRACT: "In A Fistful of Dollars (1964) and subsequent films, Morricone opted for an unprecedented fusion of archaic-sounding lines in the melody, reminiscent of medieval modal music. He intermixed this sound with contemporary pop touches (the Fender electric guitar), wordless choirs, unusual instruments (Jew’s harp, ocarinas, mariachi trumpets…) and ambient sounds (whip cracks, whistles, gunshot, coyote’s howls). He also infused scores with his trademark humour. This can be heard in the comedy western Il Mio Nome è Nessuno (My Name is Nobody, Tonino Valerii, 1973) where a toy trumpet toots bits of Wagner’s Ride of the Valkyries."
Jul 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: Are you collaborating with living composers? Answer: Yes, Scott Wollschleger sends me unfinished new works every month. Keeril Makan is working on a piano concerto. Melaine Dalibert has dedicated several recent works to me. There are more names on the horizon. But these are the three where I feel I can have a big impact on their careers, and all three write music that I feel born to play. That combination of things is important to me."
Jun 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: How do you see your musical mission today? Answer: My real passion in music is to resist popularity rankings and market forces. In my view, these currents impoverish our cultural richness........."
May 1st 2020
EXTRACT: Alessandro Deljavan: "I bought a former convent 40 kilometers from Pescara, in Villamagna. It's very important for me to breathe clean air and live as simply as possible. Life in a giant city full of cars and smog is hard for me to imagine. My perspective is always to live fully. My aspirations for the best musical experiences guides my decisions and over the past several years I have had the pleasure of meeting and working with some wonderful musicians—these experiences have brought me a sense of optimism for what might lie ahead.”