Jan 28th 2017

Voltaire comes home with an American accent

by Michael Johnson

Michael Johnson is a music critic with particular interest in piano. 

Johnson worked as a reporter and editor in New York, Moscow, Paris and London over his journalism career. He covered European technology for Business Week for five years, and served nine years as chief editor of International Management magazine and was chief editor of the French technology weekly 01 Informatique. He also spent four years as Moscow correspondent of The Associated Press. He is the author of five books.

Michael Johnson is based in Bordeaux. Besides English and French he is also fluent in Russian.

You can order Michael Johnson's most recent book, a bilingual book, French and English, with drawings by Johnson:

“Portraitures and caricatures:  Conductors, Pianist, Composers”

 here.

The Leonard Bernstein incidental music for Voltaire’s Candide seems even fresher today than it did 60 years ago when it flopped on Broadway. Over time the production has been reworked, massaged and matured, and now is finding remarkable popularity in the United States and around the world. As musicals go, it is vintage New York – with creative staging, energetic choreography, acting/singing by a large cast, and of course Bernstein’s scintillating score.

Leonard Bernstein, by Michael Johnson

Candide played recently in Toulouse and Bordeaux over a period of one month, closing its successful run Thursday (Jan. 26). The entire production was in English with French surtitles. To me, the irony of hearing Candide narrated in English in front of French audiences was obvious but no one seemed to object. The French know the story by heart anyway. 

The Voltaire satire was perfect for Bernstein’s sense of musical theater. His song-writing excelled in this work and his orchestration of the overture was nothing short of brilliant. Other orchestrators were brought in to handle the rest of the music and with equal artistry. Bernstein’s genius is evident in this recording, conducted by himself:


The original libretto by the late Lillian Hellman was the basis for the project but the actual lyrics – so clever and so pungent – were rewritten and polished by about a dozen subsequent New York talents. This road version was a complex co-production of the U.S. Glimmerglass Festival, the Toulouse Théâtre du Capitole and l’Opera National de Bordeaux. The actors and singers were mostly Americans imported for the tour. 

The classically trained U.S. veteran actor Wynn Harmon played Voltaire, narrating the philosophy and the action with 18th century panache, right to the end of the two and one-half hour production when he addresses the audience with the joke, “Any questions?” The American baritone Andrew Stenson, a veteran of major operatic roles, portrayed Candide to perfection, and Ashley Emerson, a young U.S. star with a long string of operatic credits, was at ease in the acting and singing demands of Cunegonde.

This production originated at the Glimmerglass Festival, Cooperstown, New York, and showed no sign of concessions to French-language audiences or the importance of Candide in the French academic curriculum. The narration, by Hellman, followed Voltaire’s original text. 

Candidecan be enjoyed passively for its memorable music or more actively for the sharp satire of society in Voltaire’s time. Few listeners – certainly in the United States – would understand three-quarters of the humor. 

Voltaire dashed off the original novella in a few days in 1759 when he was 64 years old and he spent the rest of his long life dismissing it as a mere bagatelle. Yet he knew it would be condemned by the royal authorities in France, and therefore he never openly acknowledge authorship. Readers who were able to obtain it under the counter recognized Voltaire’s impious and indecent voice, however, and in his lifetime it was reprinted more than 20 times. The story takes on German philosopher Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz and others who believed that optimism was justified because God was a benevolent force. The violence of the story proves otherwise.

Candide was a character in the style of Jonathan Swift’s Gulliver, an innocent abroad. Large themes denounce the authoritarianism of both church and state – slavery, sex, torture, oppression, and the existence of God as a force in the world. This was dynamite between two covers. Scholars believe Voltaire drew inspiration from Gulliver’s Travels, also controversial in its day. 

The modern French audiences responded to Bernstein’s music as much as to Lillian Hellman’s book.  Some of the songs have become international standards, notably Cunegonde’s lament  “Glitter and be Gay”, as in this version sung by Natalie Dessay:


One of the most memorable songs from the production is “Auto-da-Fé”, which includes the satirical line “What a day, what a day for an auto-da-fé,” attributed to lyricist John Latouche. Others who added memorable touches to the lyrics were Dorothy Parker, Stephen Sondheim and Richard Wilbur. 

Director of this production, Francesca Zambello, has worked previously with the Toulouse and Bordeaux opera companies. She said in response to my query that she had worked for many years with Thierry Fouquet, former General Manager of Bordeaux, and Frédéric Chambert, former Artistic Director of Toulouse. “I told them The Glimmerglass Festival was producing the Bernstein piece and they were very interested in bringing Voltaire back home! Frédéric and Thierry have both since left their posts, but we worked closely with the incoming management to present this successful run.”

 


This article is brought to you by the author who owns the copyright to the text.

Should you want to support the author’s creative work you can use the PayPal “Donate” button below.

Your donation is a transaction between you and the author. The proceeds go directly to the author’s PayPal account in full less PayPal’s commission.

Facts & Arts neither receives information about you, nor of your donation, nor does Facts & Arts receive a commission.

Facts & Arts does not pay the author, nor takes paid by the author, for the posting of the author's material on Facts & Arts. Facts & Arts finances its operations by selling advertising space.

 

 

Browse articles by author

More Music Reviews

Nov 27th 2021
EXTRACT: "Most important  to him, he explained, is maintaining his individuality in interpretation. He feels it was a mistake in his past to pick and choose bits from different teachers and combine them into a finished performance. He has decided to create his own perspective, and 'go for it'."
Oct 28th 2021
EXTRACTS: "The 16th International Beethoven Piano Competition came to a rousing climax in Vienna on 21 October with first prizewinner Aris Alexander Blettenberg’s lyrical rendering of the Beethoven Piano Concerto No 1." ---- "The other two finalists, Austrian Philipp Scheucher and South Korean Dasol Kim, played Beethoven’s Fourth and Fifth Concertos respectively."
Sep 21st 2021
EXTRACT: "Top prize, worth 22,000 euros, went to Jae Hong Park, a flamboyant, emotive player with and a firm grasp of Rachmaninov, and second prize went to Do-Hyun Kim, who played Prokofiev’s second concerto with some considerable verve. Placing third was Lukas Sternath, a young Austrian who performed Beethoven’s Fifth Piano Concerto with cool charm -- the opposite of Park’s style."
Jul 9th 2021
EXTRACT: " .....I have to give everything in these concerts,.... "
Jun 26th 2021
EXTRACT: What do you want to be known as? --- As “Stewart Goodyear, composer and pianist”.
Mar 15th 2021
EXTRACT: Denis Pascal, founder of the French Trio Pascal: ".....recording studios began working again. We recorded our Schubert trios at the end of September. And musicians everywhere are finding that the crisis allows time for a certain introspection and questioning into the way music is performed. Music will play a much more important role after the crisis."
Feb 12th 2021
EXTRACTS: "She began her piano training rather late in life – age 8." ..... "I want to contribute a sense of joy by discovering atypical works that might surprise an educated public. I have great experience and am inclined to share them with anyone who can appreciate them, or as André Gide wrote, anyone “who has an open mind”."
Jan 31st 2021
EXTRACTS: "A new recording of Franz Liszt’s piano compositions presents ten carefully balanced pieces in a double-CD album aptly titled Between Light and Darkness, launched by Piano Classics. The pianist, the veteran French virtuoso Vincent Larderet .... Larderet opens his CD with a moving exploration of Après une Lecture de Dante with a tortured lyricism unmatched by many of his contemporaries who play it. I was stunned the first time I heard his performance. In our interview below, he describes lyricism as “an essential facet of my musical conception. The piano must be able to sing like the human voice.” "
Jan 16th 2021
EXTRACT: "Jack Kohl is an American pianist and writer with three novels and two essay collections to his credit. His new collection, From the Windows of Diligence: Essays from a Standing Pianist, has drawn critical acclaim in the U.S. and Europe. In these reflections, he examines the power of ‘hack pianism’, the metaphor of running vs. the piano, and the ‘hidden gift’ of the Covid virus pandemic on solitary practicing. Robert Beattie spoke to Kohl about his music training and how he made the transition from pianist to author. (This edited interview was first published on www.Seenandheard-international.com and is reproduced with permission.)"
Dec 17th 2020
EXTRACT: "Freedom in Beethoven’s music takes many, frequently overlapping forms. There is heroic freedom in the Eroica (1803), freedom from political oppression in the Egmont Overture (1810), artistic freedom and innovation in the Ninth Symphony (1824). Today, Beethoven’s music remains deeply connected with a true humanism, which has the principles of freedom and self-determination at its heart. The composer’s music grew out of the age of European Enlightenment, which located human reason and the self at the centre of knowledge......"
Nov 27th 2020
EXTRACT: "One of the most durable tales in Western civilization – the legend of Faust – is brilliantly rendered in a piano adaptation, performed this week by the multi-talented Australian musician of German/Slovenian parentage, Ashley Hribar. A new recording of the music, now available digitally, will appear as a CD in the New Year. Hribar calls his recording, “Faust: A Mortal’s Tale”.  It is a personal musical reflection on the Faust story, loosely based on the 1926 silent film by Wilhelm Friedrich Murnau."
Aug 6th 2020
EXTRACT: "For 60 minutes, my mind was clear, the air was clean and the sound heavenly. It was my honor and privilege to have been there."
Jul 25th 2020
EXTRACT: "Scarlatti sonatas are enjoying a popular surge in recent years, tempting pianists –Europeans, Americans, Asians -- to try to master their broad range. Margherita has some advice: “Don’t be afraid to slow down, to speed up, to play the truly singable melodies with a quasi-Romantic feeling.” "
Jul 18th 2020
EXTRACT: "The dizzying output of John Cage the musician, the poet, the writer, the thinker, the artist, was so prolific that one of his sidelines – his interests in wild mushrooms -- has been almost overlooked. A new a two-volume set of books, beautifully designed by Capucine Labarthe, packaged in an elegant slipcover, seeks to fill this gap."
Jul 9th 2020
EXTRACT: "In our chat by telephone, Paley spoke from his Paris apartment and asserted his belief that Rameau was “the greatest French composer ever. Pure genius and very special colors.” He acknowledges his extensive research into the period of Rameau’s life (1683-1764) in order to recreate the spirit of the time."
Jul 8th 2020
EXTRACT: "In A Fistful of Dollars (1964) and subsequent films, Morricone opted for an unprecedented fusion of archaic-sounding lines in the melody, reminiscent of medieval modal music. He intermixed this sound with contemporary pop touches (the Fender electric guitar), wordless choirs, unusual instruments (Jew’s harp, ocarinas, mariachi trumpets…) and ambient sounds (whip cracks, whistles, gunshot, coyote’s howls). He also infused scores with his trademark humour. This can be heard in the comedy western Il Mio Nome è Nessuno (My Name is Nobody, Tonino Valerii, 1973) where a toy trumpet toots bits of Wagner’s Ride of the Valkyries."
Jul 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: Are you collaborating with living composers? Answer: Yes, Scott Wollschleger sends me unfinished new works every month. Keeril Makan is working on a piano concerto. Melaine Dalibert has dedicated several recent works to me. There are more names on the horizon. But these are the three where I feel I can have a big impact on their careers, and all three write music that I feel born to play. That combination of things is important to me."
Jun 1st 2020
EXTRACT: "Question: How do you see your musical mission today? Answer: My real passion in music is to resist popularity rankings and market forces. In my view, these currents impoverish our cultural richness........."
May 1st 2020
EXTRACT: Alessandro Deljavan: "I bought a former convent 40 kilometers from Pescara, in Villamagna. It's very important for me to breathe clean air and live as simply as possible. Life in a giant city full of cars and smog is hard for me to imagine. My perspective is always to live fully. My aspirations for the best musical experiences guides my decisions and over the past several years I have had the pleasure of meeting and working with some wonderful musicians—these experiences have brought me a sense of optimism for what might lie ahead.”